The key moments for understanding Mark’s text

11/02/2014

are not the questions asked of Jesus, nor are they Jesus’ answers or his symbolic actions (healing, exorcisms, the miracles of him feeding the hungry), nor even his parables, but rather the questions he asks his disciples, his opponents, and, in fact, his readers, such as: “Is it lawful to do good on the Sabbath days, or to do evil? Who is my mother, or my brethren? Why are ye so fearful? How is that ye have no faith? Are ye so without understanding also? Whom do men say that I am? But whom say ye that I am? What was it that ye disputed among yourselves by the way? Can ye drink of the cup that I drink of? And be baptized with the baptizm that I am baptized with? Whose is this image and superstition? My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?” These questions are directed firstly to us, the readers, today, not only to the characters of the story. Jesus does not answer a single question explicitly but instead uses parables and stories.

B. Gunjević, “God in Pain” – Pray and Watch — The Messianic Subversion

Leave a Reply

